Hey guys!  Have you missed me and my unprecedented wealth of knowledge…HA!!   Crazy that it has been over a week since my last babble.  I have been sick and busy.  Not SICK sick…the kind that lingers for a really long time, leaving you with zero energy, motivation or umph!  Yay me!!  I have also been preoccupied with the fact that I have a job interview tomorrow.  Even though, it is highly unlikely that I will be offered the position, I want desperately to leave a positive impression, in the hopes that a future position would be offered to me.

Here is some Lisa-trivia…..

I haven’t worked, aside from part-time jobs that basically anyone is capable of holding, since I was NINETEEN YEARS OLD….NINETEEN….I’m currentluy FORTY-TWO…you do the math.   

I have spent the last 22 years of my life negotiating with kids…..leaves the brain a little, well mushy, to be polite!

I don’t own much besides sweats, holey jeans (I wear these to church…get it?  Holey jeans…as in Holy….hehe crack myself up) and ratty t-shirts.

The list goes on, however I choose to stop the madness, as it  launches me into a cranky, irritable state of being!  ‘Nuf said.

In any event, those are my excuses…now onto my topic!

Do you ever wake up and think to yourself…how did I get to be this age?

I do!  

I mean how in the heck do I have 5 kids, a husband, a house, bills, budgets, house maintenance AND even crazier when did I get old enough to reminisce about events that transpired TWENTY PLUS years ago…..TWENTY YEARS AGO…wth!!??

The sobering realization that we are no longer teens can be disturbing, depositing you in a situation where you contemplate “the rest of your life,” your health.  You might create a laundry list of all of the shoulds and should nots.  I don’t know about you guys, but these thoughts exhaust me and leave me feeling “bad.”

Woman’s Day recently reported on some real ways to stay healthy and gain BACK some years to our lives.  Most we have heard….I have resolved to add a few to my lifestyle and when it becomes a habit, add a few more.  I am a firm believer in NOT biting off MORE than you can chew, as it often leads to frustration and disappointment.

The list…..

-Walking 30 minutes a day can add 2.2 years to you life!  If you literally do not have 30 minutes in your day, break it up into smaller parts.  A pedometer is a great way to track what you are walking, studies have also shown that people who wear a pedometer add 2,000 steps throughout their day, which is the equivalent of 1 mile…..woot woot!!

-Moving during sedentary times can add 5.6 years to your life!  A few jumping jacks or running in place during commercials.  Pacing when you are on a phone call.  Walking in to get your coffee or make a bank deposit instead of using the drive through.

-Go to bed 15 minutes earlier can add 3 years to your life!  This is really important!!!  No matter our personal sleep needs, getting less than 7 hours a night is detrimental to our health.  Sleep allows our organs and entire body system to restore and repair itself.  Heading to bed 15 minutes earlier potentially adds 7.5 more hours of precious sleep per month!!

-Strength training can add 1.8 years to your life!!  Twice a week will help fight against osteoporosis, as well as boost your metabolism, which helps protect from diabetes and heart disease.  No time?  Think outside the box…push-ups, leg lifts, squats etc.

 -Flossing can add 3.5 years to your life!!  Now come on people…there is just NO EXCUSE for NOT FLOSSING AT LEAST ONCE A DAY, ideally TWICE!!   Periodontal disease is directly linked to heart disease…FLOSS...besides how gross are your teeth and breath if you are not properly taken care of your mouth.  Baffled by your single status….FLOSS for Pete’s Sake!!!  NO BRAINER PEOPLE, NO BRAINER!!   Adds 3.5 years…stop being just plain GROSS!!!!

-Eating healthy can add 14 years to your life!!  This is a BIGGIE!!   Perhaps the most challenging, as well.  There is exceedingly overwhelming amounts of information out there.   In its simplest form….eat good fats.  Nuts can lower cholesterol levels by 5%.  Eat a variety of fruits and veggies….LOTS and LOTS.…eat these in ABUNDANCE!!  Fish twice a week delivers an exuberant amount of health benefits as a result of their omega 3’s.  Eat fiber rich foods…..oatmeal, apples, walnuts, almonds, beans, avocado.

-Having more sex can add 8 friggin’ years to your life!!  Ugh!  Boy will this one make my hubby happy….sigh!  I have no comments to add.

-DO NOT TEXT AND DRIVE!!!  Statistics show this is becoming more of a danger than drunk driving….statistically speaking!!  RENT  the movie Seven Pounds with Will Smith, if this doesn’t cure you than you’re on your own.  Be responsible…nothing you have to say is so important it can’t wait….. if it is pull over.  If you are doing it with your kids in the car,  no matter how old, you are setting them up for the same behavior…do you want your kids texting and driving…I think not!  Another NO BRAINER people!!  Okay…off my soap box!

-Managing stress can add 4 years to your life!!  If we could only bottle the cure for stress, right??    Deep breathing several times throughout the day is a great way to lower blood pressure.  Interacting with friends face to face is always good stress management.  Studies have recently shown chewing gum to be a great way to relieve stress…..who knew…that one is easy…CHECK!

-Quit smoking…this will add 6-12 years to your life!!  I won’t pretend to understand how difficult this habit is to break.  I have never been a smoker.  I have witnessed people struggle with this addiction and empathize truly with their plight.  I am not sure, however there would be anything MORE IMPORTANT that a person could do for themselves in terms of their health.  Statistics are overwhelming…..20 minutes after you stop smoking heart rate and blood pressure drop, 2 weeks after quitting circulation and lung function improve, 2 years after quitting your heart disease and cancer risk are cut in HALF and 15 years after quitting your risk for heart disease is that of a non-smoker’s.   I can offer no advice on how to go about quitting,  but will offer my support and coaxing to seek out a way or a person to help you quit!  You deserve it and are worth the effort it will take!

So there you have it, my friends….pick one…pick two….pick a bunch…pick them all….just pick and add years to your life!

Enjoy your day!!

 

 

