I know I have posted on thankfulness before, but recently a good friend of mine posted a FB status that resonated with me in a different way.  There are endless articles and data compiled that prove a heart and mind of thankfulness increases health and joy.  And for the most part we do our best attempt at thankfulness.  Unfortunately, for most of us, it proves challenging to maintain a consistent degree of thankfulness.  I believe we ARE truly thankful for our homes and health etc, but the routine of daily life and bad days often beat us down into a zombie-like state,in which we just “get through” the day, mark it off the calendar and start over again.  By the time our weary heads hit the pillow there is not a second for thankfulness before we slip into the wistfulness of slumber.

Back to my point…..my friend’s status was…..“if you woke up tomorrow with ONLY the things you were thankful for the night or day before….what would you have…what would your life look like today?”   I can tell you that on the particular day that she wrote this, I would have awaken with MY BED and SLEEP….THAT’S IT!!  No husband, no kids, no home, no health, no dog, no food, no car….NOTHING EXCEPT MY BED AND SLEEP!!  You know how, every once in a while, you have those moments….moments that strike you with such intense force that you collapse under the invisible pressure of sobering realization….yep…it was one of THOSE moments!!

I don’t know about you guys, but I need to SERIOUSLY get my act together in the thankfulness department.  Oh, I do good for a while and then I get lost in the hustle and bustle of my life and forget.  Not to say that if someone asked me, I couldn’t list a GAZILLION things that I truly am thankful for, however I am missing the boat on thankfulness dwelling in my spirit.   Are you?

Thanks Stacy!! 

Join me in this weeks challenge in asking…..

If you woke this morning with only the things you were thankful for last night….what would your life look like today?

 

