It seems that zucchini are doing GREAT this year!  We are swimming in them and 2 friends have recently raved about having zucchini boats at picnics.  A friend and fellow blogger recently posted a recipe for them as well.

Here is her website…http://www.thisrunnersfuel.com

Paula Deen also has a recipe for them…her version is less healthy, but tasty I am sure! You can find it at the Food Network Online.

We have a ton of veggies from our garden right now.  Our farm-stand is in FULL swing…yay us!  You can visit our website at http://www.misty-acres-farm.com  I promise I am trying to figure out how to paste in links so you can just click on them, but I am so not “techy.”  If anyone wants to let me in on how to do it, it would be very much APPRECIATED!

Anyway, this is how I made them.

Again….I have that Italian thing going on, so I don’t know measurements….sorry!

BOATS:

1.Trim the ends off of the zucchini and slice in half (long ways).

2.Scoop out the seed and flesh to form a boat shape.

3. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper ( I use sea salt and cracked black pepper)

4. Bake in a 350 degree oven until tender, approximately 20/25 minutes

5. Drain excess olive oil from zucchini.

Here a picture of what they should look like (before I drained excess olive oil)…..

FILLING:

The great part about the filling is you can use ANYTHING you like or have on hand.  Normally I would just use veggies to fill, BUT I had a 2 pieces of leftover chicken and a little bit of rice so I threw them in this time.

1. Add olive oil (2/3 TBS) to skillet  and saute 1 clove of garlic until it becomes fragrant.

2. Toss in your crunchy veggies and saute until their color becomes vibrant…I used carrots, rutabaga, zucchini, the stems of bright lights swiss chard and snow peas.

3. Add softer veggies and leftovers…I added swiss chard leaves, tomatoes, the chicken and rice.

4.  I always add olive oil, salt and pepper as I go to taste.

5. Lastly, I tossed in some mixed shredded cheese.

This is what the filling looked like when it was done….

Finally just fill your boats and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese……HOLY YUMMY GOODNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!

ENJOY!!!

