Being born in Georgia, I often refer to myself as a Georgia Peach!  I LOVE peaches, HOWEVER I do not care to eat them with the skin…I do not enjoy the fuzzy feeling.  I LOVE them peeled and sliced and in all sorts of scrumptious desserts….peach cobbler (YUMMO), peach pie (HOLY GOODNESS), peach crisp (ahhhh…that is the sky parting and angels singing), baked peaches (Deliziosos), poached peaches ( Fantisimo)….you get the idea!!

My husband is a farmer and would do it full-time if it yielded enough money to live on, since it does not, he teaches during the school year and farms during the summer.  He runs a beautiful and tremendously large garden with his dad and we sell the veggies at a roadside farmstand!  All of our vegetables are 100% organic!!  Every year for the last several years my husband’s passion has been planting fruit and nut trees developing an orchard.  And since I am a Georgia Peach, he planted peach trees!  We do not spray or treat our trees or veggies with anything….NOTHING…not even “natural” herbicides and pesticides.

For whatever reason the peach trees do great here!

Today was a very exciting day, as it is the first time the trees have produced a significant amount of delicious peaches.

We harvested enough this morning to make our very first PEACH PIE…woot woot!!

     

Holy Yummy Goodness!!

CRUST:                                                                                                                                    

2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup veg oil

Mix well, divide into 2 equal parts, roll out

FILLING: (filling measurements are guesstimates because I’m Italian  and that’s how we roll!)

 8-10 medium peaches peeled and sliced

sugar (approx 1 tablespoon)

flour ( approx 2 TBS)

lightly sprinkle cinnamon and nutmeg

add to pie shell, cover with 2nd pie shell, cut air vents and bake at 450 for 20 minutes and then 375 for 20 min.

